Craptastic

about
articles
news
search
videos
home

Photorific

Login
Register«

Cooliferous

images (NSFW)
searches
taa
buy stuff
Last.fm
Facebook
» bug reports

News Talk

So much fo~
...
You Have T~
Facebook i~
Continuing~

Article Talk

World Of W~
Now What D~
Part 21: A~
Oblivion
Part 18.5:~

New Articles

Fast Eddie~
World Of W~
Now What D~
Part 21: A~
Part 20: A~

News

So much fo~
Go Canada ~
...
Sittin'
You Have T~

Rogers Abuse! Also Known As A False Positive

By: SmrtySsa
on Saturday, April 30th 2005 at 9:19pm

Dear [My Name in UPPER CASE, very friendly]

We have reason to believe that a computer connected through your Rogers Cable Modem has been infected by virus. The amount of traffic and traffic patterns being generated are consistent with a Trojan Virus.

Typically, these types of viruses do not affect the performance of your computer and instead carry out attacks and malicious activities behind the scenes, without your knowledge. This type of network activity has the potential to negatively impact the overall service. For your reference, we have included a technical summary of the activity for your reference at the bottom of this e-mail message.

To protect your computer and to safeguard other customers on the Rogers Yahoo! Hi-Speed Internet network, we urge you to remove the virus as quickly as possible. This can usually be done by using an updated Anti-Virus program to scan all the computers connected to your cable modem and choosing to remove the viruses.

If you are unable to remove the virus within 48 hours, we will have to take additional steps to protect other customers and the Rogers Yahoo! Hi-Speed Internet network including temporary service deactivation. Should this occur, we can reactivate your connection once the virus has been removed by calling into our call center.

If the network activity below is not the result of a Virus, we ask that you reconfigure any programs or hardware which is generating the network activity detailed below to reduce the amount of traffic or redirect it to another DNS Server.

High volumes of requests causing Error or Canned (127.0.0.1) responses usually indicate a Worm, Virus, or Bot infection. These viruses will usually attempt to connect to a controlling server or attempt to perform a Denial of Service attack on a specific server on the Internet. Once the desintation is identified, the owner of the server may remove or change the DNS entry causing future Virus infected computers to fail resolving the name. this causes an error to be generated.
Sincerely,

EUA Management Team
Rogers Yahoo Hi-Speed Internet

IP Add, Errors, Queries
24.112.78.42, 120, 231

Date Time, Src, Query, Query type
2005-04-27 00:03:20.79363, 24.112.78.42, fresno.com., Internet Addr ?
2005-04-27 01:03:01.52843, 24.112.78.42, mail.mwh.com.brntfd.phub.net.cable.rogers.com., Internet Unknow
2005-04-27 01:03:13.94833, 24.112.78.42, 37.25.191.218.sbl.spamhaus.org., Internet Addr ?
2005-04-27 01:03:14.77028, 24.112.78.42, 169.223.234.203.in-addr.arpa., Internet PTR ?
2005-04-27 01:03:14.78227, 24.112.78.42, tm.net.my., Internet Addr ?
Date Time,Dst,Query,Response
2005-04-27 0:03:20.79446,24.112.78.42,fresno.com.,Internet Addr 129.8.57.70
2005-04-27 1:03:1.55726,24.112.78.42,Error:,3(Name Error)
2005-04-27 1:03:14.48904,24.112.78.42,Error:,3(Name Error)
2005-04-27 1:03:14.79525,24.112.78.42,tm.net.my.,Internet Addr 202.71.97.48
2005-04-27 1:03:20.9845,24.112.78.42,Error:,3(Name Error)

Thank You Rogers for identifying me as a virus carrier. Now, I shall rip it apart. The sample period of 231 requests with 120 failures is pretty short. If that triggers their "virus" warning system, it's pretty weak. The failures were generated by Anti-Spam methods (which check for domain existance and addressing) so, failures are a Good Thing™

So I replied. "This is as a result of anti-spam measures that use DNS to verify return addresses. But, since it's a problem for you, I have switched my DNS servers. Thanks!" Following that, their 'autoreply' form the abuse account got flagged as spam by their own (Yahoo!'s) system. Hahaha...

Kudos go to them for attempting to notify users. And I guess I'm lucky they didn't disconnect me. 48 hours is pretty a weak timeframe considering I don't use that email address for anything! The only reason I checked was because of my modem-upgrade notice. heh... Fun.

So, I guess now I can't use their DNS so that's yet another part of their service that I won't use leaving me with nothing but a connection.

Other Articles

Next: How To Make Money on eBay. from SmrtySsa
Next: London Calling from Conor
Previous: Installing Ubuntu Linux on My Notebook from SmrtySsa
Previous: Der Untergang from Conor

Comments for Rogers Abuse! Also Known As A False Positive

prev . 1 2 . next
14 Comments

Quigley Wrote...

Sunday, May 8th 2005 at 12:22pm

hehehe

you know, every time I think of switching to cable, someone gives me a good reason not to. often, that someone is you. woover :)

SmrtySsa Wrote...

Sunday, May 8th 2005 at 2:04pm

the only reason I still use cable is because of the pseudo static-ip that I get. Heh.

mike Wrote...

Monday, May 9th 2005 at 8:41am

You can pay $10 for a static IP with DSL. I may consider it when I move back to brantford. I was planning on trying out VOIP though, and with DSL I think you need a phoneline to start off with, which is why I want to go to VOIP to begin with.

SmrtySsa Wrote...

Monday, May 9th 2005 at 1:28pm

a static IP isnt worth $10/mo when they still don't officially allow you to run a server, heh. I also don't see the static ip option for their normal home service. just the business one.

But, as you've also stated, the forced phone service to get dsl is also a negative. I'd probably already have a VoiP line if I could get a brantford number.

mike Wrote...

Monday, May 9th 2005 at 2:28pm

Damn. I didn't realize Vonage doesn't have brantford numbers. Mother FUCKERS. Oh well, the bill will be less no matter what when I move back. No more LD calls to brantford to talk to family and friends.

SmrtySsa Wrote...

Monday, May 9th 2005 at 2:33pm

Yeah, I haven't found any that provide branthole numbers. Eventually, I'm sure... but not yet.

ML Wrote...

Monday, May 30th 2005 at 9:44am

Same issue here - I don't think they understand we're trying to block spam as well. Where did you get your DNS? I might have to do the same thing.


M.

SmrtySsa Wrote...

Monday, May 30th 2005 at 9:52am

I run my own server (this one) so I've always had alternate DNS available to use. I had just never bothered to override the servers they issue with their DHCP settings.

The ones that they issued were this: 24.153.22.67, 24.153.23.66

A handful of their other servers (which may not have the same logging and alert system enabled) are: 24.153.22.13, 24.153.22.14, 24.153.22.142, 24.153.22.141

ML Wrote...

Monday, May 30th 2005 at 10:20am

Fantastic - thanks! I don't think sendmail recognizes the rotate option in resolv.conf, I wrote a short script that changes the contents of resolv.conf to put different DNS addresses at the top of the list (so as to distribute the load). I run my own server too - and here I'll show my ignorance of the DNS hierarchy - I thought that even if I ran named, it would still point all requests back to the entries in resolv.conf for domains that I'm not the SOA for.

Regards,


M.

SmrtySsa Wrote...

Monday, May 30th 2005 at 10:29am

Well, if you run named, you could just put 127.0.0.1 (or the ip of the machine running named) as a nameserver in your resolv.conf file and all your dns requests will just go straight to your local nameserver. It's still good to have an external server listed just in case though.

prev . 1 2 . next
14 Comments

You must be Logged in to leave comments.