Craptastic

about
articles
news
search
videos
home

Photorific

Login
Register«

Cooliferous

images (NSFW)
searches
taa
buy stuff
Last.fm
Facebook
» bug reports

News Talk

EGGNOG!
SNOW! XD
Randomness~
Healthy Co~
Kitchen St~

Article Talk

Part 25: I~
Part 24: D~
Part 23: D~
Now What D~
Random Wha~

New Articles

Part 25: I~
Part 24: D~
Part 23: D~
Part 22: A~
Fast Eddie~

News

EGGNOG!
Healthy Co~
SNOW! XD
Via Rail R~
Kitchen St~

More Marketing...

Posted by: mike in Scams 'n Spams
Friday, April 29th 2005 at 8:24am

I got an email this morning from a company called WhenU who wanted saw my DB Converter as an interesting product with "significant user value". They proposed a partnership proposal that would "increase [my] revenue while offering value to [my] users."

Sorta funny... considering I give my conversion software away for free. That's the beauty of the GNU GPL. I let the internet and the software advertise itself. I don't do anything.

So, I did a quick google search. Funny what the first result said... AdWare: "Adware.WhenU is an adware component that displays advertisements that are targeted to you and are based on your Web browsing habits."

I pity the people who actually get sucked into the crap.

 

share: del.icio.us Digg! Share on Facebook interact: click here to read comments (two)

<< previous || current || random || next >>

prev . 1 . next

SmrtySsa Wrote...

Friday, April 29th 2005 at 4:31pm

Hahah... as soon as I saw "WhenU" I knew where it was going.

They probably like the popularity of your program, so they want it and inject evil ads! paying you mere pennies while they reap the rewards of raping unsuspecting users while you take the blame!

Anesthetic Wrote...

Friday, April 29th 2005 at 9:10pm

yes, what Ssa said

prev . 1 . next
2 Comments

You must be Logged in to leave comments.